On July 1, 2018, House Bill 80 became the law in the State of Mississippi. The effect of the law is that traveling in the left lane can be criminalized and ticketed in certain situations. The extent and the degree of usage of this law are yet to be determined. House Bill 80 amends Mississippi Code Annotated Section 63-3-303 as follows:
(2) (a) A vehicle shall not be driven in the outermost left lane of any roadway with two (2) or more lanes allowing for movement of traffic in the same direction except when:
(i) Overtaking and passing another vehicle proceeding in the same direction under the rules governing such movement;
(ii) The right lane(s) of a roadway is closed to traffic while under construction or repair;
(iii) The right lane(s) of the roadway is in disrepair or in an otherwise impassable or unsafe condition; or
(iv) A vehicle is preparing to exit the roadway on the left.
(b) A vehicle shall not be driven continuously in the outermost left lane of a multilane roadway whenever it impedes the flow of other traffic.
(c) A violation of this subsection (2) is punishable by fine of not less than Five Dollars ($5.00) nor more than Fifty Dollars ($50.00).
SECTION 2. This act shall take effect and be in force from and after July 1, 2018.
Although, the punishment is minimal it is still a moving violation and can affect different states point systems and insurance rates. Again the extent of the application is uncertain. I am aware of different jurisdictions writing citations where they simply observe the vehicle in the left lane without considering exceptions. Where you believe that you have been charged wrongfully, contact Wayne Housley at 662-844-5635.